AB 2524 Catering Operations and Host Facilities



Background

- Breweries (which are not constructed for food service) wanted food available for their customers to purchase.
- These food sales were sometimes called "Pop-Ups".
- "Pop-Ups" did not fit into any of the defined categories of food sales in the California Retail Food Code and could not be easily permitted.
- "Pop-Ups" will now be a caterer that can prepare and sell food directly to the customer.







What Has Changed?

Definitions for "catering operation" and "host facility" were added to the California Retail Food Code. New sections were added that set up a framework for a permitted catering operation to prepare and sell food directly to customers at a "host facility". The new code sections include permit and operational requirements for this type of food sales.



Definitions

<u>Catering Operation</u> means a food service that is <u>conducted by a</u> <u>permanent food facility</u> approved for food preparation where food is served, or limited food preparation is conducted, at a location other than its permitted location, in either of the following circumstances:

- (1) As part of a contracted offsite food service event.
- (2) When operating in conjunction with a <u>host facility</u> with direct food sales.

Host Facility means a facility located in a brewery, winery, commercial building, or another location as approved by the local enforcement agency, that meets applicable requirements to support a catering operation that provides food directly to individual consumers for a limited period of time, up to four hours, in any one 12-hour period.



What does the law allow now?

Now a brewery, winery, or similar business can apply for a permit as a "Host Facility". Once permitted, food businesses can be invited to prepare and sell their food at a brewery or winery as a "Catering Operation" (Pop-Up).



Catering Operation Requirements

- Must operate from a permitted permanent food facility.
- Prior to conducting food service at the Host Facility, the catering operation must submit to EMD a standard operating procedure (SOP) including a list of foods being served and methods for maintaining food safety and sanitation.
- ➤ The catering operation must maintain records for all offsite food service activities for 90 days. Records must include: location date and time of offsite food service activity, customer contact information, temperature logs and menu.

Host Facility Requirements

The Host Facility must obtain an application approval and a Host Facility permit. The application approval process will verify that the proposed Host Facility has the following:

- Approved restroom with handwashing sink available within 200 ft. of food service area
- Refuse storage and collection
- Approved area for liquid waste disposal
- Hot and Cold water hot water must be a minimum of 120F
- Designated area for catering operation that complies with zoning and fire codes
- Food sales by a caterer are limited to 4 hours in any 12 hour period

Catering Operation at the Host Facility

"Limited Food Preparation" may occur at the host facility

"Limited Food Preparation" includes:

- Heating, frying, baking, roasting, popping, shaving of ice, blending, steaming or boiling of hot dogs, or assembly of non-prepackaged food.
- Dispensing and portioning of non-potentially hazardous food.
- Holding, portioning, and dispensing of any foods that are prepared by a catering operation for a host facility.
- Slicing and chopping of food on a heated cooking surface during the cooking process.
- Cooking and seasoning to order.
- Juicing or preparing beverages that are for immediate service, in response to an individual consumer order, that do not contain frozen milk products.

Existing Fees (No Change)

Catering Permit (existing)

- Low Risk \$268/year
- High Risk \$391/year

Note: A Catering Permit is not needed if already permitted as a restaurant or other food preparation facility

New Proposed Fees

Host Facility

- Category A (has current EMD health permit, such as a bar)
 \$73 application fee
- Category B (no current EMD health permit, such as a Brewery)
 \$365 annual permit fee

Fee Comparison

County	Permit Fee Per Year	Plan Check Fee	Total
San Diego	\$153	\$677	\$830
Santa Clara	\$340	\$438	\$778
Yolo	\$377	\$714	\$1,091

Outreach Workshop

- Workshop held April 4, 2019
- Invited breweries, wineries and caterers
- Positive feedback on proposed Host Facility permit



Next Steps

Sacramento County Board of Supervisors
May 21, 2019

Questions?

Environmental Health Division (916) 875-8440